Washington and Lee Law Review Announces Staff Writers

Lexington, VA Friday, August 03, 2007

Twenty-four students at Washington and Lee University's School of Law have been named staff writers for the Law Review, completing the staff for the upcoming year's edition, Volume 65. They join an editorial board comprised of 15 third-year students, including Editor-in-Chief Kimberly Herb and Executive Editor Anna Ku.

The second-year students were chosen from a pool of about 70 candidates following a rigorous competition and selection process, known as the Write-On Competition. W&L's selection process is unique among the nation's top law schools in that no positions are awarded to students based solely on grades.

Instead, the application process begins with a series of short meetings to familiarize applicants with the Law Review and with the journal's writing and citation styles. Candidates are then asked to participate in a writing competition requiring them to write a paper outlining their solution to a complex problem supplied by the Law Review, along with supporting cases and other sources. This year's problem, a due process and Eighth-Amendment issue, concerned the constitutionality of medicating an insane inmate for the sole purpose of execution.
The submissions, which are anonymous, are graded by the Law Review's editorial board. The authors of the top four submissions receive automatic invitations to join the Law Review. The remaining 20 staff writers are chosen by combining their writing scores with fall semester grades and spring semester grades, each comprising one-third of the total score.

This year's staff writers are:  Joseph S. Camden, of Maryland; Ryan M. Decker, of Maryland; Shani R. Else, of Virginia; Daniel H. Ennis, of Maryland; Michelle L. Evans, of Virginia; Berit L. Everhart, of Georgia; Alexis S. Hawley, of Florida; Christopher W. Henry, of Massachusetts; Sarah A. Hess, of Maryland; Christopher A. Lauderman, of West Virginia; Garrett S. Ledgerwood, of New Mexico; Daniel S. Lee, of New York; Peter S. Massaro, of New York; Michael T. McCarthy, of Pennsylvania; Thomas H. McElroy, of Louisiana; Andrew H. Morton, of Oregon; Allen C. Myers, of Virginia; Oleg V. Nudelman, of New Jersey; Gregory L. Schinner, of Maryland; Mark A. Sweeney, Jr., of Virginia; Bridget Tainer-Parkins, of Virginia; Srikanth Vadakapurapu, of India; Emily A. White, of Louisiana; and William P. Young, of North Carolina. 

First published in 1939, the Washington and Lee Law Review presents articles contributed by leading scholars, judges and lawyers, as well as essays, book reviews and student notes. It is published quarterly by students of the W&L School of Law.

  Email This Page