Fall 2006 Moot Court Competition Winners Announced: Negotiations Team Headed to National Championships

Lexington, VA Monday, November 13, 2006

The Moot Court Board at the Washington and Lee University School of Law completed its busy fall schedule on Friday, November 10, 2006 as the Mock Trial competition drew to a close. Other competitions decided this fall included the Robert J. Grey, Jr. Negotiation competition and the John W. Davis Appellate Advocacy Moot Court competition.

The finalists for the 2006 Mock Trial competition were Ian German '08L, Josh Nettinga '07L, Abigail Parolise '07L, and Charlotte Wang '08L. Top honors eventually went to Josh Nettinga, and Charlotte Wang was runner-up. The final round was judged by the Honorable James C. Turk, Senior District Judge, Western District of Virginia.

Judge James Turk (center) with the 2006 Mock Trial Finalists (left to right) Charlotte Wang, Josh Nettinga, Abigail Parolise, and Ian German. Photo by David Greene '07L

The 2006 John W. Davis Moot Court competition was decided on Friday, October 27th in the newly renovated Millhiser Moot Court Room. The finalists for Appellate Advocacy were Josh Autry '08L, Kristina Longo '08L, Diane Meier '08L, and Meredith Stow '08L. The Best Brief nominees were Josh Autry '08L and John Michael Myers '08L, Nicholas Brauns '08L and Marie Trimble '08L, Kristina Longo '08L, and Melanie McKay '08L.

After the competition, Kristina Longo was named Best Oralist and Josh Autry was named first runner-up. The Best Brief Award went to Nick Brauns and Marie Trimble. Longo's brief received first runner-up honors. The judges for the Davis Moot Court Competition were Judge Thomas E. Johnston, United States District Court, Southern District of West Virginia; Senior Judge Henry C. Morgan, Jr., United States District Court, Eastern District of Virginia; and Chief Justice Myron T. Steele, Delaware Supreme Court.

Davis Moot Court runner-up Josh Autry and Best Oralist Kristina Longo with the competition judges.

The 2006 Robert J. Grey, Jr. Negotiation competition concluded on Friday, September 15th. The team of Andrew Howard '07L and Yousri Omar '07L placed first, and the team of Wyatt Deal '08L and B. Radcliff Menge '08L placed second. Both teams, along with a third team comprised of David James Knight '08L and David Hillman '08L, went on to represent the Washington and Lee University School of Law at the ABA Regional Negotiation competition held in Baltimore, Maryland on November 4-5. Howard and Omar won this regional competition and will move on to compete at the ABA Negotiations National Championship in Miami this February.

Negotiations winners Yousri Omar and Andrew Howard with Robert Grey (center).

The Moot Court Executive Board, chaired this year by Christopher Price, administers all competitions for the Moot Court Program, which includes the Robert J. Grey, Jr. Negotiations Competition, the John W. Davis Appellate Advocacy Competition, Mediation, and Client Counseling. For more information about the Moot Court Board and upcoming competitions, please visit http://law.wlu.edu/mootcourt.

Email This Page