Prof. Roger Groot Receives VBA Pro Bono Publico Award

Lexington, VA • Wednesday, July 20, 2005Roger GrootProfessor Roger D. Groot of the Washington and Lee University School of Law received the Pro Bono Publico Award of The Virginia Bar Association (VBA) on Friday, July 15, during the VBA’s 115th Summer Meeting.

The award is given periodically in recognition and appreciation of outstanding pro bono and community service. Previous recipients have included R. Barrow Blackwell (1987); John C. Kenny (1989); Henry W. McLaughlin III (1992); Philip B. Morris (1993); Gail Starling Marshall (1993); George H. Hettrick (1994); Overton P. Pollard (1995); Robert E. Shepherd, Jr. (1996); Nina E. Olson (1999); and David B. Rubinstein (2000).

Groot has been a longtime organizer of the successful Capital Defense Workshop through the VBA Criminal Law Section, served as the law faculty representative on the VBA Board of Governors for four years, done extraordinary work with respect to the VBA Board of Governors’ Ad Hoc Committee on Virginia’s Indigent and Capital Defense Systems, has provided representation in high-profile capital cases and been a strong advocate for indigent criminal defense.

Groot is the Class of 1975 Professor of Law at Washington and Lee University in Lexington. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Vanderbilt University and the University of North Carolina School of Law, he joined the VBA in 1995 and is a former chair of the VBA Criminal Law Section. He previously served as director of the Virginia Capital Case Clearinghouse and has co-chaired the VBA Capital Defense Workshop since 1998, and served on the Virginia Model Jury Instruction Committee from 1992 to 2002. He is the author of Criminal Offenses and Defenses in Virginia and co-author of Trial of Capital Cases in Virginia, in addition to a number of essays and monographs on criminal law issues. More detailed biographical information is available here.

Email This Page